Top
 
Frequently Asked Questions
 
1. What are the benefits of Pork vs. Beef Collagen/Gelatin?  

Collagen obtained from either source of raw materials are measured both by physical and chemical characteristics using the same test methods. Results are very similar although some choose to use type B over type A due to their theological beliefs.

 
2. What is Gelatin/Collagen hydrolysate?  

Hydrolysate is either heated to a high temperature or enzymatically treated to reduce the "Molecular weight" which limits its ability to congeal. Hydrolysate is measured less than 5000 Dalton (mw) which makes it readily dissolvable in both cold and warm liquids.

 
3. It clumps in very cold and very hot liquids.  

We suggest for gelatin to mix in liquids of room temperature, which makes it swell, then add heat to dissolve. If left in cold it will not dissolve, however it will be easier to swallow if at room temperature.

Hydrolysate should be added to empty
glass or cup, then pour your desired juice or drink over dry powder and it will more easily dissolve. We do urge using an electric mixer as it disperses with ease.

 
4. How are the cattle raised?  

Our cattle are grass fed and slaughtered in Argentina and Brazil which is controlled by their respective Department of Agriculture. These countries have the same type of rigourous tests and inspections as the United States. Beef hides are the only product used to manufacture gelatin in these countries.

 
5. What does it mean to be USDA approved?  

The USDA certifies that rindepest, foot-and-mouth disease, classical swine fever, swine vascular disease, African swine fever, and contagious bovine pleuropneumonia do not exist in USA products. In our case, all pigs have received ante- and post-mortem inspections by official veterinarians and are found fit for human consumption.

 
6.What are the hogs fed?  

Those hogs raised in farm areas get their daily normal feed (raw corn, pellets, selected waste foods from restaurants, and grocery stores). Cloistered hogs are fed raw corn, selected grain pellets, and a variety of natural foods from various food markets when available.

 
7. Are your pigs or cattle fed any hormones or other kinds of artificial fillers?  

There is no way to be certain of all concepts of feeding of these animals, but what we can assure you is that of all tests that are known to us we find no disease, antibiotics, hormones, pesticides, or herbicides in the skin or hides of animals used to produce gelatin. Therefore none of the above items are transmitted to our products.

8. Is Gelatin Gluten Free?  

Gelatin and related products from Great lakes Gelatin are totally free from gluten. Glutens are the proteins found in wheat, barley and rye flours (all Triticeae plants). Wheat glutens are a problem for a small group of individuals who have allergies to these proteins (primarily for persons suffering from celiac disease). Glutens are plant derived proteins. Gelatin is produced entirely from animals and contains absolutely no gluten.

9. Does Gelatin Contain MSG?  

Some believe that Glutamic acid or Mono sodium glutamate is contained in gelatin. This is simply not the case. To read more common misconceptions, and facts about gelatin, Click Here >>

 
 
Copyright 2010 Great Lakes Gelatin Company